Iowa State men’s basketball players drafted into 2019 YMCA Cap City League

Members of the Iowa State Basketball Team took part in the second weekend of Cap City League games Sunday June 24 at Valley High School. This weekend seven ISU Players participated. 

The YMCA Capital City League had the annual draft for their summer basketball league which will feature 12 Cyclones from the 2019-20 squad.

The draft consisted of two snake-style draft rounds for Iowa State and Drake players, which was followed by six open standard draft rounds of former and current college players as well high school players. The Iowa State round was first followed by the Drake round.

Below are the results from the Iowa State and Drake rounds:

Iowa State round:

1. Sparta Waste – Prentiss Nixon

Prentiss Nixon at the 2018 Men’s Basketball Media Day.

2. Waukee Clive Vet – George Conditt

Freshman forward George Conditt IV looks to pass the ball and later loses possession during the first half of the senior night game against Texas Tech. The Cyclones lost 80-73 against the Red Raiders on March 9 at Hilton Coliseum. 

3. Global Greatness – Terrence Lewis

Freshman Terrence Lewis looks for a pass during the game against TCU on Feb. 21 at the Hilton Coliseum. 

4. Des Moines YMCA – Rasir Bolton

5. Des Moines Outreach Lions Club – Michael Jacobson

Redshirt junior forward Michael Jacobson fakes out KU players during the Iowa State vs Kansas basketball game in Allen Fieldhouse on Jan. 21. The Jayhawks defeated the Cyclones 80-76.

6. Fore the Veterans – Solomon Young

Iowa State forward Solomon Young looks to pass during the Cyclones’ 75-65 win against Baylor at Hilton Coliseum on Jan. 13, 2018. Young had his second career double-double and scored 11 points for the Cyclones.

7. Fore the Veterans – Zion Griffin

Zion Griffin at the 2018 Men’s Basketball Media Day.

8. Des Moines Lions Club – Caleb Grill

9. Des Moines YMCA – Marcedus Leech

10. Global Greatness – Javan Johnson

11. Waukee Clive Vet – Tre Jackson

12. Sparta Waste – Luke Anderson

Drake round:

1. Fore the Veterans – Tremell Murphy

2. Des Moines Lions Club – Jonah Jackson

3. Des Moines YMCA – Antonio Pilipovic

4. Global Greatness – Issa Samake

5. Waukee Clive Vet Clinic – Okay Djamgouz

6. Sparta Waste – Liam Robbins

7. Sparta Waste – Nate Ferguson

8. Waukee Clive Vet Clinic – Brady Ernst

9.Global Greatness – Connor Gholson

10. Des Moines YMCA – Joseph Yesufu

11. Des Moines Lions Club – Garrett Sturtz

12. Fore the Veterans – Samm Jones

The Cap City League will be valuable for an Iowa State team which will be returning lots of young and inexperienced players with the exception of Nixon, who sat out per NCAA transfer rules last season, Bolton, who is transfering from Penn State and Young, who missed significant time last year due to injury and Jacobson. Jacobson is the only player of the 12 to play over five minutes last season.

Source: Iowa State Daily