Cramer and Powell Named Gautt Scholarship Recipients

MANHATTAN, Kansas – Kansas State’s Katie Cramer (soccer) and Ethan Powell (track and field/cross country) were two of the 20 student-athletes selected by the Big 12 Conference to receive the 2019-20 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships, announced by the league office this afternoon.

Cramer recently earned her degree in kinesiology with a 3.91 grade point average (GPA). During her time with K-State soccer, Cramer was a three-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team selection and was named to the 2016-17 Big 12 Academic All-Rookie Team.

Powell also graduated in May with a 4.0 GPA. The product of Colorado Springs, Colorado, earned a pair of undergraduate degrees during his time in Manhattan including a B.S. in History, a B.S. in Political Science and was pre-law. Powell was a two-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team selection in track & field and a two-time Academic All-Big 12 First team honoree in cross country.

The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services’ pioneer who passed away in March 2005. The list of all-time recipients has grown to 381 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution.

To date the Big 12 has provided over $3.5 million for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999 and increased to $6,900 for 2004-05. The awards climbed to $7,500 in 2006-07, moved to $9,000 in 2011-12 and are now at $10,000 since 2013-14.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.200 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee’s respective institution.  The student-athletes must graduate from their respective member institutions and enroll in graduate or professional school of their choice within 15 months of their selection of the postgraduate scholarship.  Three faculty athletic representatives, one director of athletics, one senior woman administrator, one head athletics trainer and the chair and vice-chair of the Big 12 Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee form the selection panel for the awards.

K-State, a Tier 1 Carnegie Foundation Institution, has had another outstanding academic year in 2019-20. The Wildcats saw 79 student-athletes receive their diplomas (21 in December; 58 in May) during the 2019-20 academic year.

K-State student-athletes combined for 162 Academic All-Big 12 citations during the 2019-20 school year, including program records for football (32), soccer (17) and baseball (13). Headlining the group were a pair of Big 12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year in Adam Holtorf (football) and Peyton Williams (women’s basketball). Both student-athletes, in addition to volleyball’s Brynn Carlson, earned Academic All-America honors.

K-State also had seven student-athletes earn the 10th annual Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award, which is the Big 12 Conference’s highest academic honor.

Kansas State had a total of 258 K-State student-athletes named to the Fall 2019 Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll, which marked the 24th-straight semester K-State tallied at least 200. Of the 258 K-State student-athletes earning the citation for their academic excellence, 77 registered a GPA of 4.0 in the fall semester.

Print Friendly Version

Source: Kansas State Sports