James Washington, Mason Rudolph Earn AP All-American Honors | Pistols Firing

James Washington has been named to the Associated Press All-American first team it was announced on Monday. His quarterback, Mason Rudolph has also earned a spot on the AP’s third-team list.

This year’s Biletnikoff winner was a shoe-in for first-team status after leading the nation in receiving yards and is just 69 yards shy of overtaking Rashaun Woods for the highest career total in Oklahoma State history. That would also move him to No. 2 on the Big 12’s all-time list.

Washington is one of six Big 12 players to make the first team. Only the Big Ten (seven) had more. The Pac-12 and SEC each had three and the ACC had one. Across from the Prez on the first-team wide receiver list is Anthony Miller from Memphis.

Washington’s partner in the best deep ball show on turf, Mason Rudolph, rewrote all of the record books in Stillwater during his senior season and earned third-team honors. His 4,553 passing yards leads the nation heading into his OSU curtain call in Orlando and his 9.4 passing yards per attempt is seventh all-time in NCAA history.

Ahead of Rudolph are Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield on the first team and Lousiville’s Lamar Jackson on the second team.

This is the first time Oklahoma State has boasted multiple honorees since the 2011 season (that had five) when Justin Blackmon, Grant Garner, Levy Adcock, Markelle Martin and Quinn Sharp were selected.

First Team

QB: Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)
RB: Bryce Love (Stanford), Rashaad Penny (San Diego State)
OT: Orlando Brown (Oklahoma), Mike McGlinchey (Notre Dame)
OG: Quenton Nelson (Notre Dame), Braden Smith (Auburn)
C: Billy Price (Ohio State)
TE: Mark Andrews (Oklahoma)
WR: James Washington (Oklahoma State), Anthony Miller (Memphis)
AP: Saquon Barkley (Penn State)
K: Matt Gay (Utah)

DE: Bradly Chubb (NC State), Clelin Ferrell (Clemson)
DT: Hercules Mata’afa (Washington State), Maurice Hurst (Michigan)
LB: Roquan Smith (Georgia), Josey Jewell (Iowa), T.J. Edwards (Wisconsin)
CB: Josh Jackson (Iowa), Denzel Ward (Ohio State)
S: Minkah Fitzpatrick (Alabama), DeShon Elliott (Texas)
P: Michael Dickson (Texas)

Second Team

QB: Lamar Jackson (Louisville)
RB: Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin), Kerryon Johnson (Auburn)
OT: Mich Hyatt (Clemson), Isaiah Wynn (Georgia)
OG: Cody O’Connell (Washington State), Will Hernandez (UTEP)
C: Bradley Bozeman (Alabama)
TE: Troy Fumagalli (Wisconsin)
WR: David Sills V (West Virginia), Michael Gallup (Colorado State)
AP: Dante Pettis (Washington)
K: Daniel Carlson (Auburn)

DE: Sutton Smith (Northern Illinois), Nick Bosa (Ohio State)
DT: Ed Oliver (Houston), Christian Wilkins (Clemson)
LB: Malik Jefferson (Texas), Ogbonnia Okoronkwo (Oklahoma), Dorian O’Daniel (Clemson)
CB: Jalen Davis (Utah State), Carlton Davis (Auburn)
S: Derwin James (Florida State), Justin Reid (Stanford)
P: Johnny Townsend (Florida)


QB: Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State)
RB: Ronald Jones II (USC), Devin Singletary (FAU)
OT: David Edwards (Wisconsin), Jonah Williams (Alabama)
OG: Beau Benzschawel (Wisconsin), Tyrone Crowder (Clemson)
C: Frank Ragnow (Arkansas)
TE: Jaylen Samuels (NC State)
WR: Steve Ishmael (Syracuse), A.J. Brown (Ole Miss)
AP: D.J. Reed (Kansas State)
K: Eddy Piniero (Florida)

DE: Austin Bryant (Clemson), Mat Boesen (TCU)
DT: Vita Vea (Washington), Harrison Phillips (Stanford)
LB: Micah Kiser (Virginia), Tremaine Edmunds (Virginia Tech), Devin Bush (Michigan)
CB: Andraez Williams (LSU), Jack Jones (USC)
S: Armani Watts (Texas A&M), Quin Blanding (Virginia)
P: Mitch Wisnowsky (Utah)

Source: Pistols Firing

Powered by WPeMatico