• Home
  • /
  • Texas Longhorns
  • /
  • Bob McKay set for induction into College Football Hall of Fame – University of Texas

Bob McKay set for induction into College Football Hall of Fame – University of Texas

FEATURED READS: Another Jewel In The Crown | McKay recognized at on-campus salute

NEW YORK – Bob McKay, a consensus first team All-American on the Longhorns’ 1969 National Championship team, is set for induction in the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday night. The ceremony will be held in New York City.

McKay guided Texas to a perfect 11-0 season and the national title after defeating Notre Dame in the 1970 Cotton Bowl. He also helped UT to a No. 3 final ranking nationally in 1968 following a win over Tennessee in the 1969 Cotton Bowl. He led the Longhorns to two conference championships, and is the first member of the 1969 National Championship team to be inducted.

A press conference to introduce the class will take place on Tuesday morning from 8 – 11 a.m. CT. The press conference can be streamed live on ESPN3 by CLICKING HERE. The awards dinner ceremony will take place from 7:30 – 9:30 p.m. CT on Tuesday night and can be streamed live on ESPN3 by CLICKING HERE.

He will be the 19th Longhorn player to be inducted, joining Hub Bechtol (1944-46), Earl Campbell (1974-77), Doug English (1972-74), Chris Gilbert (1966-68), Jerry Gray (1981-84), Johnnie Johnson (1976-79), Malcolm Kutner (1939-41), Bobby Layne (1944-47), Roosevelt Leaks (1972-74), Bud McFadin (1948-50), Steve McMichael (1976-79), Tommy Nobis (1963-65), James Saxton (1959-61), Harley Sewell (1950-52), Jerry Sisemore (1970-72), Mortimer “Bud” Sprague (1923-24), Harrison Stafford (1930-32) and Ricky Williams (1995-98).

Former Texas coaches Dana Bible (1937-46) and Darrell Royal (1957-76) are also in the Hall.

The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown on Tuesday, Dec. 5. This year’s College Football Hall of Fame Class includes: Bob Crable (Notre Dame), Marshall Faulk (San Diego State), Kirk Gibson (Michigan State), Matt Leinart (Southern California), Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Bob McKay (Texas), Dat Nguyen (Texas A&M), Adrian Peterson (Georgia Southern), Mike Ruth (Boston College), Brian Urlacher (New Mexico) and coaches Danny Ford (Clemson, Arkansas), Larry Kehres (Mount Union [Ohio]) and Steve Spurrier (Duke, Florida, South Carolina).

Print Friendly Version

Source: Daily Texas Online

Powered by WPeMatico