• Home
  • /
  • Texas Longhorns
  • /
  • Texas’ Ashtin Zamzow, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray honored as Big 12 Athletes of the Year

Texas’ Ashtin Zamzow, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray honored as Big 12 Athletes of the Year

Texas senior Ashtin Zamzow couldn’t have finished her collegiate career any better. She graduated with a degree in exercise science, a minor in business and won the NCAA national championship in the heptathlon.

On Thursday, Zamzow was recognized as the Big 12 Female Athlete of the Year, the league office announced. Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray was named the Male Athlete of the Year.

Zamzow set personal bests in four of the seven heptathlon events the NCAA outdoor championships — 110 meter hurdles, 200 meter hurdles, long jump and high jump. Those performances pushed Zamzow into first place with 6,222 points.

“I still can’t believe it,” Zamzow said afterward. “It’s going to take me about a few days to swallow that pill.”

Zamzow was part of five Big 12 team championships during her UT career. The Goliad native was also a semifinalist for The Bowerman Award, track’s equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.

“I certainly wouldn’t be the person I am today without being challenged and pushed by some of the greatest athletes, coaches and professors the country has to offer at UT,” Zamzow said in a statement. “Competing for the University of Texas has been one of the biggest blessings in my life. I’m so thankful I was able to win this award representing them.”

Zamzow is the ninth UT female athlete to win this award but the first in 10 years.

Murray became the first FBS quarterback to average at least 300 passing yards and 60 rushing yards per game while guiding OU to the Big 12 championship. He ended up winning the Heisman as OU reached the College Football Playoff.

Murray was the first overall pick in the NFL draft last spring with the Arizona Cardinals.

Contact Brian Davis at 512-445-3957. Email bdavis@statesman.com.

Source: HookemPlus.com